Semester 2

New Venture Design has been a peculiar module, in a good way. It has been the most different and one of the most enjoyable modules I’ve taken part in since the beginning of my university life. I feel very lucky to have had it this way, it is a fulfilling module and I guess I do have a lot to thank to Corrine since she is the brains behind all articulations of the programme. In this blog post I will be reflecting on the first semester of the module and looking at some expectations for the second one.

I loved the way that lectures develop in this module. Unlike any other, the class is more encouraged and more rewarded to speak out their opinion, ideas, suggestions and stories. Many moments were shared where it seemed to me that we were all gathering as friends telling each other stories. I happen to be a sucker for storytelling, I love the formality of aesthetic, I love detail, I love beautiful formation of words, I love to hear someone gifted to speak trying to describe something indescribable. New Venture Design sheltered this type of social exchange. The creative liberty allowed by Corrine made Thursdays often the highlight of my week in knowledge acquisition.

In a way it all was very good, but there is a loss, there is an exchange in potentialities. Corrine, if you are reading this, don’t feel like this is a criticism, it is just how I feel, it may not even be true, in fact I rather it remain like this than not, and more I feel New Venture Design should be an example to break successfully from the rigid pattern of theory teaching. The exchange I feel occurs is that it lacks theoretical depth often (which often is the case that it is a dream for the student). I felt at some points that it was difficult to keep objectivity in what was actually being attempted to be achieved. Sometimes I could not figure out what the next step should have been. 

Nevertheless it was the module I enjoyed the most so far. It is a good hit with all the practical work and input the students complement to the lecture. 

I would like to see it more, but at the same time I would like to be indecisive less often or not at all, regardless of it all I like a challenge, so bring it on! 

Leave a comment